Commonwealth Msc Scholarships for Developing Countries

The Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships for Developing Commonwealth Countries are prestigious scholarship opportunities aimed at providing financial support to students from eligible Commonwealth countries who wish to pursue a Master’s degree in the United Kingdom. These scholarships are funded by the UK government’s Department for International Development (DFID) and administered by the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission (CSC) in the UK.

ALSO SEE: Clarendon Fund Scholarships at University of Oxford 2024

Here are some key details about the Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships:

1. Eligibility: Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships are available to citizens of eligible Commonwealth countries who are unable to afford the cost of studying in the UK. Eligibility criteria may vary from year to year, but generally, applicants must have completed their undergraduate education and meet the academic requirements of their chosen course of study.

Target group:

Citizen of or have been granted refugee status by an eligible Commonwealth country:

Bangladesh, Belize, Botswana, Cameroon, Dominica, Eswatini, Fiji, Gabon, Ghana, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and The Grenadines, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Tanzania, The Gambia, Togo, Tonga, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, and Zambia

2. Fields of Study: These scholarships support a wide range of Master’s degree programs in various academic disciplines, including but not limited to the sciences, humanities, engineering, social sciences, and more.

3. Funding: The scholarships cover the following expenses:

  • Tuition fees
  • Airfare to and from the UK
  • Stipend (living allowance) to cover daily living costs
  • Thesis grant (if applicable)
  • Excess baggage allowance for books
  • Warm clothing allowance (if applicable)
  • Study travel grant (if applicable)
See also  Commonwealth Scholarship 2025 In UK (Fully Funded)

4. Duration: Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships are typically awarded for a duration of one year for taught Master’s programs and for up to two years for certain research Master’s programs.

5. Competitive Selection: These scholarships are highly competitive, and candidates are selected based on their academic excellence, leadership potential, and the potential impact of their studies on the development of their home countries. Applicants are required to provide evidence of their academic achievements and potential.

6. Application Process: Interested applicants must apply directly to the university for their chosen Master’s program and then separately submit a scholarship application to the Commonwealth Scholarship Commission. The application process typically includes submitting academic transcripts, references, and a personal statement.

7. Commitment to Home Country: Commonwealth Master’s Scholars are often expected to return to their home countries upon completing their studies in the UK and contribute to the development of their nations. This commitment to their home country’s development is an integral part of the scholarship program.

8. Deadline: 17 Oct 2023 (annual)
Study in: UK
Course starts Sept/Oct 2024

The Commonwealth Master’s Scholarships provide a valuable opportunity for individuals from developing Commonwealth countries to pursue higher education in the UK and gain skills and knowledge that can contribute to the development of their home countries. These scholarships promote international cooperation and the exchange of ideas among Commonwealth nations, fostering a global community of future leaders. If you are eligible and interested, it’s important to carefully review the specific eligibility criteria and application guidelines for the year you intend to apply, as they may evolve from year to year.

See also  University of Exeter Scholarships 2025 In UK (Funded)

Visit The Official Website For Further Information.